October 2011 Anime Season – Series ranking at 25/10/12

Okay, everything has offered at least 2 episodes now. Things are getting clearer.

And with that, some major changes on the preference order of my season viewings.

As I said in a previous post, I dropped Guilty Crown, reducing the number of titles I’m watching this season to seven. Look, it’s got potential but I’m not willing to wait ten years for something interesting to happen, for Shu to grow a spine and for a character that lights up the screen to emerge. Two seasons of this will be too much time lost to much ado about nothing, IMO.

So here is the new order for the seven shows I’ve continued with:

7.  (7) Squid Girl S2. Same old, same old but passable.

6. (6) UN-GO. The world setting is full of the tyrannical dystopian nightmare worlds I read in high school and it’s very effective in that regard. But its characters are very underdeveloped and we need to see more about them immediately or this show will have wasted its potential.

5. (3) Mirai Nikki. It’s still good but Episode 3 was rather light…Thinking Episode 4 will kick things back up a few notches, but Episode 3 was too sedate.

4. (2) Fate/Zero. It’s not that anything bad happened in Episode 4…It’s more the fact it could have been better…Lancer vs Saber should have been thrilling even if it was an introductory battle. Still, the constant cutting to a different character/scene and the sheer amount of dialogue just killed the flow within this episode and prevented it from being a thrilling fight. However, Rider stole the show in the final minutes as only this incarnation of Rider can!

3. (5) Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai. I’m amazed at how THIS show is being far more effective at developing its characters while mixing that exposition in with events/action and also has a potentially interesting plot. It’s still light and nothing fantastic, but it’s ticking the right boxes. It’s funny, it looks good, its service is steamy but not sleazy. This show really couldn’t do much better so far!

2. (4) Last Exile: Fam the Silver Wing. Truth be told, as I am a HUGE fan of the original Last Exile, I’m going to be harsher on this show more than anything else. Still, Episode 2 was the best thing I watched for the last week. Stunning CGI, the character mix is now balanced, the plot has emerged, the motivations of the heroes and villains are now apparent and some facts about EXILE and the like that we never knew from the original are finally explained! The amount of plot progression and character development that occured within this single episode while providing a good deal of action was pretty darn impressive. Keep this up, Gonzo. You may have a winner here.

1. (1) Chihayafuru. As much as Last Exile 2 and Boku wa Tomodachi have improved, Chihayafuru hasn’t put a foot wrong once yet. It’s doing everything it’s setting out to do thus far. While the subject matter isn’t the most exciting, in terms of setting up a feel-good coming of age tale and the bonds of friendship that don’t feel contrived, it’s excelling. I hope we go back to present day Chihaya in Episode 4 though.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zammael
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 10:31:23

    Agreed with the top five tho I’m kinda lukewarm about Last Exile. Never could get into the original series even tho it evokes the atmosphere of a legendary Sega Saturn shooter in Panzer Dragon.

    I’d rank them as follows: Mirai Nikki, Chihayafuru, Fate/Zero and then Last Exile. But the best show still on air is Mawaru PenguinDrum no question.

    Reply

    • lastsinner
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 13:35:15

      Last Exile has a style and a vibe very different to most titles. It’s the kind of show you have to like the whole package – Range Murata’s character designs, the music of the Dolce Triade, their choice of seiyuu, the wacky nature of Dio, the spunky females within the cast, the steam-punk nature of the world. It’s not for everyone and I get why people find it weird or not to their tastes. All good.

      I suspect Mirai Nikki will be higher on my ranks in a couple of weeks after a friend told me just about everything that happens in Mirai Nikki. My weaker hunch turned out to be right…one I didn’t post about. Which now gives me hope this show will deliver.

      Ah, Penguin Drum. That’s…not my kind of comedy. I find that show an extreme chore to watch. I get why people like it and have no problem with people liking it. It just bores me.

      Reply

  2. myst1138
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 11:13:51

    Just found your blog recently and I just want to say thanks for your hard work because your writing is a pleasure to read.

    I’ll admit that I haven’t started watching Chihayafuru yet, but seeing all the positive stuff about it on pretty much every website has made me really want to. I’m also really surprised at how much I’m enjoying Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai. The promotional stuff for the show (and even its own OP) had me believing it would be a bad service show. But three episodes in and I’m surprised how funny it is without relying on service (too much) and even having time to fit in some good character development.

    Reply

    • lastsinner
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 13:56:51

      Thanks for your kind words. Nice to know some people out there get something out of this.

      Chihayafuru is not to everyone’s tastes. Not everyone is positive about it – I’ve had some discussions with people that have issues with it. If you can handle subject material that isn’t the most exciting and a character dynamic focusing on raison d’etre and friendship with some personalities that are a bit different from the norm, you’ll be able to get into it.

      Reply

      • myst1138
        Oct 27, 2011 @ 01:17:44

        I initially dismissed the show cause Karuta didn’t interest me and it sounded way too limited as a game to really be interesting to watch. But if the characters are good and interesting then that’s all I need to give it a shot. 🙂

      • TRazor
        Oct 27, 2011 @ 02:58:45

        I get a mention 😀

  3. lastsinner
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 03:02:11

    Chihaya – Spunky, just, lacks a purpose in life
    Taichi – All-round achiever, popular, jealous of competition
    Arata – Introverted genius, determined, lives in poverty

    All three have different good and bad qualities. They’re an intriguing mix. I will say that from what I’ve seen by speaking with others, you will need to be able to relate to at least one of these characters to like this show. When you’re watching a more down-to-earth show, you need to understand where the characters are coming from. Those struggling with those show seem to universally agree they can’t relate to those three. Those that like it have found one they relate to. So it will be interesting to see what you encounter.

    And yes, Trz, you helped point that out. 😛

    Reply

  4. kiddtic
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 09:17:17

    I’m really loving this season and I’m watching a record 8 shows, 8 shows! thats insane. Well my rankings are;

    1- Fate/Zero, without a doubt this has got to be the the best looking anime I have seen this year, the animation, music and voice acting is spot on. Ive tried finding fault with it but honestly cant. At the rate it is going its going to remain with its 10/10 rating from me.

    2- Chihayafuru, I have come to the realisation that I adore Josei and we need more Josei anime. I love Chihaya her character is so good, I like them spunky girls and episode 3 brought me to tears. Thats crazy, Ive only ever been so emotionally moved 4 times but that was always at the end of shows not at episode 3!

    3- Persona 4,This show surpassed all my expectations being a video game adaptation I assumed it would suck but the direction it is taking is very fascinating. I have to admit I have a soft spot for Chie Satonaka, again another spunky female lead.

    4- Bakuman & Working’!! & Squid Girl, these are all sequels so yeah, more of the same please 🙂

    5- Kimi to Boku, okay Last Sinner knows I really love my moe and this seasons Kimi To Boku is giving me just that but with a spin. Its boys instead of girls, I find that really interesting and funny and I admit it not for everyone but the hardcore fujoshi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

